Microwave Autoclave

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adomant

Regular.
Reaction score
I'm just getting into yeast cultures and the issue of sterilisation - conventional wisdom is that a pressure cooker is a good idea but I also wanted to explore the microwave option.

Various searched have shown that the biochemistry industry is, at best, uncertain that microwaves will kill spores and at worset, largely sceptical. However, that is just looking at microwaves on there own as a source of dry heat.

I read an article on using microwaves in combination with steam (like baby bottle setirisers) which suggest that the appropriate kill factor can be reached ( 6Log10 ?).

one of the sources http://www.elaw.org/system/files/Non-Incineration_Medical_Waste_Treatment_Te_7.pdf

So I have bought one of those cookware microwave pressure cookers and I'm going try to sterilise a plate on full power for 20 minutes with steam and see if anything grows or maybe use a colour indicator.

I will buy a pressure cooker as I have no doubt that this is too convenient to work.

thoughts appreciated...

As the purpose of your post is to 'experiment' a, I will be interested to hear your results.
Without seeing to be negative, how will you be able to differentiate between kill rates accountable to steam v microwave.
So I have bought one of those cookware microwave pressure cookers and I'm going try to sterilise a plate on full power for 20 minutes with steam and see if anything grows or maybe use a colour indicator.
How will you ensure no cross contamination, how will you ensure back ground environment will be excluded from your experiment?

Where are you planning on keeping the plate once steralised it needs to be sealed somewhere otherwise its going to be open to airborn bacteria which will ruin your experiment