How to Brew - John J. Palmer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Good Ed

Landlord.
Reaction score
John Palmer is an American and is well known in beer circles; this book is the 3rd edition and he has also kindly made it available online here

I bought this along with GW's book when I started brewing and have found them to be a great source of knowledge and refer to them often.

John's book is very comprehensive and covers every topic of brewing, including extract, partial mash and all grain, all written so the beginner can easily understand. There are chapters on the malts and hop varieties. There are many tables and graphs included; an example is the nomograph for working out the amount of priming sugar to add to get the required volume of CO2 to suit the beer style, which I find very useful. There is a short recipe section with recipes for both extract and AG for all the main beer styles (imperial and metric).

The appendices also include a section on mash tun design, going through different types and choices of manifolds etc.

So at 347 pages I have found this book to be great value for money, and you can always review it on line before buying it.

Just one thing to say is that the online edition is old and inaccurate in many places. The printed 3rd edition is OK. Just try not to pick up on too many Americanisims :D

Aleman said:
Just one thing to say is that the online edition is old and inaccurate in many places.

you managed to avoid mentioning the hot break issue :)

This is the book I recommend to every new brewer in my club. It used to be Charlie Papazian's series, but I think Palmer has raised the bar.

I have been brewing for 10 years, and 5 of those are on a semi pro level; I still reframe this book on almost a weekly basis.