Adding Honey to Beer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trackoid

Reaction score
I was thinking about trying to add Honey to my beer during secondary fermentation, is this crazy?
If it's ok to do
1. Should I substitute priming sugar with the Honey or add alongside?
2. If I add with sugar what percentage of honey/sugar should I use?
3. Which Honey would be the best to use?
I'm looking to get a subtle honey aftertaste not overwhelm the brew
4. Is there a better alternative?

Thanks Mark, I'm new to this,(first ever brew on the go!) so just thinking of things to try, but I would have no idea how much to use in a 5 gallon barrel, so maybe trial and error at first. Maybe I'll try sugar/honey combo at first until I get the subtle aftertaste I'm after.

Not sure if you looking to add the honey to an AG brew or a KIT. I would boil a jar of cheap supermarket honey in 1ltr of water then add to the fermentor.

trackoid said:
Just adding to a kit, and fancied a bit of experimentation. :D

In that case just get a jar of honey add it to the boiling water you will use to mix in to the kit. Just boil the honey in the water for a while to kill off any nasties that may be in there. You may want to reduce the amount of sugar the kit recommends as honey is a fermentable so would up the ABV if added with the same amount of sugar recommended by the manufacturers.

I used to use honey all the time. I'd boil it up with the wort in lieu of sugar. The brew always came out good but, to be honest, I think you'd be better off with brewing sugar. There was never a particularly honey-like flavour about the beer.

I've only recently started brewing again and always use brewing sugar.

Having said that, give it a go and see what happens.