Is my water report missing information

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rossyb

Reaction score
Hi

I am totally new to brewing having only attempted 3 all grain brews so far.

I want to learn more about getting the correct water and I have been trying to correlate the water report from my local provider with the various calculators I have found online.

All the calculators require values of either CaC03, H03 or C03

Problem is I cannot see any of these symbols listed in my water report

Am I missing something or is the report incomplete?

Is there any way to use the other information in the report to substitute those parameters?

I have attached the report as 3 pictures

I also assume I would use the average value to input into the various calculators

Any help much appreciated

Thanks Ross
View attachment uploadfromtaptalk1446574315632.jpg
View attachment uploadfromtaptalk1446574335019.jpg
View attachment uploadfromtaptalk1446574349517.jpg

I got the same format report as yours from my water provider. They stated that they are not required to test for carbonates, but they found someone on their staff who was a brewer, and he knew! Drop them a line asking if they have any results for carbonates, they might be able to dig something up for you.

Having said that, your report does give a figure for 'total hardness average of 37mg Ca/l'. That very well could be CaC03, as it is Calcium Carbonate that contributes to water hardness.

Hi Ross, cant answer your questions but confused as well. I presume the amount of chemicals in the water is represented in the average column? You have Glyphosate in there, lead and fluoride, arsenic to name a few things which are definitely not good for us even in minute doses. That's why i switched to RO water. Hopefully someone on here will be able to help you out. Welcome to the forum.