Plums......

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crystal_Ball

Reaction score
With many of the plums ready to pick on the only plumtree I have in the garden I thought I'd make some plum jam tomorrow. Not quite emptied the tree and I have 14 kilos!!!! Anyone have some further suggestions how I can use them alcohol wise? I'm currently all grain brewing and never brewed anything other beer. I have just been given 8 demijohn.
Or non alcohol wise?

I've just put a plum wine on using a recipe I found online. I've never done it before, but the must tastes very good.

I had a pint of plum porter by titanic brewery last week, it was lush! Something I'd like to try sometime.

2lbs of plums, 100-200g of sugar and a bottle of 40% vodka is on the cards for the proceeds of my tree.

Save me searching do you have a link?

I based it on the first and third recipe in this link, which seemed to make sense abv wise. I did a few changes for what I had plumb-wise and in the cupboard. I used 2.2kg of plums and topped to 7L, and upped the pectolase to 1tsp because of the extra fruit. I didn't use any acid as some of the plums were still a bit tart tart. I used 1kg sugar but also chucked in a tin of white wine enhancer as I had some lying around. I'm planning of letting it ferment out, stabilise and back-sweeten to make a medium wine. Hopefully some of the lovely plum flavour in the must will persist until it's conditioned.

I've still got a load of fruit on the tree, so I might do a 12L batch of plum porter using DME and some steeped grains.

Did plum wine last year but it wasn't great for the effort involved, maybe it's improving, will have to sample another bottle,like the look of the plum brandy, will give that a go this year.

maybe it's improving, will have to sample another bottle,like the look of the plum brandy, will give that a go this year.