New member, i think my first brew is 👎🏻

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Archer3419

Reaction score
Hi all, thanks for taking time to have a look at a complete newbies issues!

My beer is in a pressure barrel for just shy of two weeks, that is completely leak free, my beer comes out with a good head, and under pressure, its nice and clear, but it tastes rubbish! i would say its a bit vinegar'ish. And the carbonation throughout it is none-existent and the head dissapears after a few mins.

What would you suggest could be the issue, has it been introduced to air for too long? (Only opened the fv to check the sg) or the most likely issue, me? Or am i too impatient?

Thanks all!!

Sorry to say it mate but a vinegar taste indicates an infection I think.

although I'm sure there's more knowledgeable members on here who can give you some better info.

For me, i'd review my cleaning and sanitizing regime and see if I missed something along the way.

If it tastes of vinegar it does sound like it may have been infected..

if its undrinkable try not to let it ruin your enthusiasm.. my first one wasn't great either but my second one was.

just incase make sure you clean all your equipment and steralise fully before using again on another brew.

It sounds like its carbed up so no leaks, its still quite young so I would pop it somewhere cooler for 2-4 weeks before trying it again. Don't right if off just yet as it will mature as it conditions and time can heal a multitude of issues !

What did you brew? Was it a kit ?

Did you brew in a seperate fermenting bucket before transferring to the keg and priming ?