LME 4 months expired - attenuation issues?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geithals

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to home brewing. I bought about 15 cans of expired Brewferm LME1.5kg (50% discount), various colours. I've added 2 cans to a 2 stout brew kits, and used 5 cans in two extract brews, altogether 4 different brews. All 4 get down to about 1018 and no further. I've managed other brews to satisfaction and my procedures are consistent. My temp is stable at 22C. And I tried some of the usual advice with stalled fermentation, a shake, pitching more yeast, a good stir. I can drink the stuff but its not satisfactory for my palate.

The one factor that is changed is using 4 month out of date LME. Is that the likely suspect for my attenuation issues? Can there be attenuations issues with those sugars? Anything I can do to make it work?

I don't know about that, but do remember that malt extract is a natural, biological product and no 2 batches of the stuff is going to be exactly the same, if only because the barley they started with will not be exactly the same depending on where and how it was grown. An expert could probably detect differences even if it came from the same farm but was grown in different fields.

I doubt if the barley is the issue, I'm using a variety of expired LME products. The only commonality is the company (reputable) and the expiration. The question is, can attenuation be so affected when using 4 month expired LME?

I don't know in general, but the first batch I brewed was using long out of date LME, and I had problems with attenuation.

Although, that batch had a much more serious problem with "extract twang".

I wrote that batch of as a learning experience in the end - poured it down the drain.

best before dates on tinned goods are basically a guide dont fret..