Home brew beer by Greg Hughes

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have to admit that this was a complete impulse buy! I was browsing through the book section of a discount department store when I came across it, and after a quick flick-through, I decided 'I need this book!'

If you're a very experienced brewer, this might not be the purchase for you; chances are that there isn't much news in there for you. However, if you are a complete novice, or just fairly new to home-brewing, this is a great book. It starts out with a brief over-view of the history of brewing - more fascinating trivia than anything that is going to help you make great beer, but then gets on with it. There's a concise discussion of the brewing process "from grain to glass" followed by short sections on malts, adjuncts and sugars, hops, yeast and brewing liquor. Without going into too much detail, you get a clear idea of the purpose of each ingredient. There are "At a glance" tables - one describing malts and adjuncts with their respective colour rating and maximum usage percentage, another describing hops with country of origin, alpha acid range and flavour intensity rating from 1 to 10, and a third one listing several beer styles with recipe examples from the book and suggestions as to which yeasts to use for each, giving a dried yeast option as well as two liquid yeast options (one from Wyeast and one from Whitelabs). Finally there is a short section of various common flavourings used in beer making, including fruit, herbs and spices.