Which malts to buy?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daimo

Reaction score
Hello, I should hopefully start building my all grain setup this weekend and there's a few bits coming from a brew shop. It's the same place I'll be getting my grains and hops so I'd like to order it all together. I am a complete novice when it comes to ingredients and before I start using software like beersmith, I'd appreciate some help on choosing the malts and hops I need to achieve the beer I want.

Firstly, my favourite ales are itchen valley Q.E.D, hogs back TEA and otter ale.

I'd like to make an ale that is dark golden/mid-brown, malty/biscuit/caramel with slight bitterness and maybe chocolate/nutty after taste.

I'd like to know the rough quantities to use as I have no idea how strong the different malts are, if 5% chocolate is too much for a hint or if 10% victory will make the whole thing taste like nuts for instance.

So if I have Maris otter (base), crystal, biscuit, victory and chocolate malts available, what would you recommend as a rough quantities to start playing with?

Thanks in advance

i suggest getting one or two recipe books. the Graham Wheeler book 'Brew Your Own British Real Ale' has recipes which attempt to achieve beers in the style of a variety of commercial examples and would be a good starting point. another book you might consider is 'Real Ales For The Homebrewer' by Marc Ollosson which contains some good recipes. also have a look at the book reviews and recipe ideas on the various homebrew forums. happy brewing.

+1 try to emulate beers you know following clone recipies it will give you 1st hand experience of the ingredients and the impact they have..