ANOTHER stuck fermentation post...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steviewell

Reaction score
Im sorry for posting yet another post re stuck fermentation but this is the third batch in the last 4 Ive had problems with.

This time, Grand Cru. Made to 9 litres as per the instructions, it was a little but on the warm side but I left to cool to 25C before pitching the yeast. Also note I hydrated the yeast in 25C water as per packet instructions. (It is worth pointing out I have very accurate temperature measurement kit from work - I am an instrumentation engineer by trade :)

Initially fermentation was good, a mighty OG 1.072 on Sat 18/4 dropping to 1.022 by my next check Sat 25/4. Next check on Wed 29/4 and still 1.022.

In hindsight 25C is a little hot, maybe 21/22C better, but I dont think high enough to kill the yeast (???).

On the Wed I pitched more dry yeast (Young's Ale Yeast) without rehydrating first. temperature this time about 21C but has dropped lower to about 18C lowest since. Unfortunately today still at 1.022 so the yeast has had no effect.

Any thoughts? I have today upgraded my temperature control system so it should maintain a fairly steady temp - whatever I choose, which I have set for 21C. Should I syphon off the beer into a new bucket and pitch yet more yeast and give it another week? Should I add some sugar this time too?

Any input much appreciated I am at my witts end!

25C isnt hot enough to kill the yeast. Have you given it a gentle stir to rouse the yeast back into suspension.

Ive not actually, is that all that is needed do you think? Its worth a try anyway and I will do now! :)

This is my third stuck ferm though, I was wondering if I am doing anything else wrong maybe. Is temperature the only factor for stuck ferm?