Single Hop, Single Malt. Any Yeast Ideas ?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RokDok

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi,

I've followed the single hop/malt link and am tempted to try.

I'd like to do 2 * 50 l batches , both with MO, one with EKG as recommended in the post, the other with maybe fuggles,cascade or styrian goldings - I'm not yet sure.

I'm really interested to taste the difference between the same beer with different hops.

I'm new to this and have only used TTL & Fullers yeasts so far (Smackpack 1968 &1469).

I'd like to try another.

Any recommendations ??

Thanks,

RD

I'd go for Cascade because EKG, fuggles and styrian arn't massively different. Cascade is pretty world renowned for its own flavour and is a dual purpose hop, so you can use it for both bittering and aroma with no imbalance.

As for yeast, no idea, but I'd stick with the same one for both batches as there will be a big flavour difference. You could go for the classics (US-05, S04, Nottingham etc,) but I do remember seeing a link on here about a brewing club recommending a Wyeast for general brewing purposes. I'll try and dig up the link...

i think youll find ekg fuggles and styrian are all different. The flavours from these hops are greatly different
styrian are bobek and do differ to fuggles.

Thankyou,

For the second I'll go with fuggles. It will be very interesting for me to taste the difference.

I've planted Cascade, EKG and Fuggles this year, the Cascade is going like a train so I might have some of my own later this summer to try again.

RokDok said:
As for yeast, no idea, but I'd stick with the same one for both batches as there will be a big flavour difference. You could go for the classics (US-05, S04, Nottingham etc,) but I do remember seeing a link on here about a brewing club recommending a Wyeast for general brewing purposes. I'll try and dig up the link...