Beaverdale cabernet shiraz

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cw2015

Reaction score
Hello I'm new and did my first batch of wine.

I used a beaverdale kit after some research. Unfortunately my calculated abv is 11.5%. Pretty disappointing as I like 13% ish wines. However the taste is lovely to think it's only a week after bottling.

Can anyone advise a stronger kit. Or how to modify any kit to produce a stronger wine but without compromising the taste?

Please bear in mind I have only done one 30 bottle kit and one ale kit. So I'm a novice :)

Thanks and merry xmas to everyone

Carla

Xx

Welcome Carla :thumb:

If you have only done two kits do you posses a hydrometer? if not then get one, only a few quid in wilko or elsewhere.

Yeah adding some sugar will boost the alcohol content! or sometimes i brew to 21L instead of 23L. You get less wine but it still tastes great! or maybe try a 10L wine kit??

Why would a 10 litre wine kit not brewed short have more %ABV than what he is making now?

according to the kenridge information booklet that i have, the red wines are 13 and 13.5%

No problem! :thumb: Im enjoying all my wine brewing at the moment, getting a great collection coming along! happy days! recently been inveating in more expensive kits in a higher quality and cant grumble with the results! :thumb::grin:

Oh come on Mr Chippy Tea! haha! which kits have you done in your time? have you done anything above the 10L stuff in any of the brands?

I started out making 6 bottle white wines I think they were Solomon Grundy kits, I then discovered supermarket juice wine making in the forum and got into that in a big way then supplemented these with the range make your own wines, I then moved onto WineBuddy kits which I still make regularly today alongside the supermarket juice wines.