Another yeast starter/harvesting thread

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dan125

BIAB brewer
Reaction score
Morning all

After a recent thread on here I've taken the plunge and bought a liquid yeast (Vermont ale) for the 1st time in a couple years. I used to use them when I started brewing, but switched to dried while I nailed down my techniques/processes.
I want to do it right this time, and save/harvest some of the yeast to use in later brews, so I've been scouring the forum & internet, and think I have it mainly sussed but have a few questions I hope you lot can help with:-

Does the temp of the starter matter? Would it be better in the fermentation fridge rather than on the kitchen worktop?

Would I have healthier yeast for the next brew if I overbuild the starter & save some rather than harvesting after pitching? - I like the sound of the method MyQul brought up recently of just taking a 500ml bottle of wort a day or two into fermentation.

Finally, the mrmalty yeast calculator suggests I need a 3.43 litre starter. I only have a 1L Erlenmeyer flask, and an empty plastic 2L fizzy drink bottle.
Can anyone suggest how best to step up to the starter size I need?
I was thinking - do a 1L starter in flask, split and save half for next brew, then with remainder do a 1.5L starter in the bottle (allowing some head space), chill, pour off wort and do another 1.5L starter in the bottle.

:cheers:

That starter quota seems huge? what is the gravity of the brew you're making (and batch size) they do say fresh liquid yeast you can get away with nearly half the amount which is why a lot of the liquid yeasts say you can pitch up to 1050 or 1060, because you can get away with it. I don't do it because I cook outside and I want a quick and healthy fermentation..

You could step up or do a larger starter, let it ferment out then split it into two.