wont clear

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jk3528

Reaction score
hi I'm new to this so after some advice I have done a tom caxton kit and its been in the barrel now for 7days sat on the side in the kitchen and 2weeks in a cool place (spare fridge in the garage) but it is still not clear HELP!!!!!!!
tastes ok

Is it your first brew?? Most brews that I do have a certain haze/cloudiness to them. They tend to clear after a while in the bottle. To get a clear lager, I tend to leave it in the bottle for several months before opening and they seem to be clear then.

Yes this is my first beer did some red wine with the grapes from the garden and thought I'd have a go at beer

Is it clear at room temp but a bit cloudy when it comes out of the fridge?

You could well have a chill haze. It doesn't affect flavour or quality and if so, drink away :)

hi I'm new to this so after some advice I have done a tom caxton kit and its been in the barrel now for 7days sat on the side in the kitchen and 2weeks in a cool place (spare fridge in the garage) but it is still not clear HELP!!!!!!!
tastes ok

Clear beer is overrated, embrace the cloudiness 😉😉
Seriously, i used to worry over this,now i couldnt care less,if it tastes good, it tastes good.

Following on from the other comments, unfiltered and hazy beers are getting fashionable nowadays...Beavertown are one of many breweries which have hazy beers.

If you go to a big enough beer festival then they'll often have the odd one labelled "UF" or "Unfined" and it will be cloudy. Commercial brewers and many homebrewers get clear beer quickly by using finings before bottling or barreling. Those of us that don't will also get clear beer but it will take considerably longer. At least a month, sometimes more.