1st timer tips?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

magic999

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie to the kit making and have a few questions before I get going. I have a Youngs Brew Buddy lager kit...

• Should I add an airlock to the bucket? Will it make the beer taste better? Doesn't mention anything about this on the kit!
  • I am planning to allow fermentation in our wardrobe but my wife is slightly concerned about odours on her clothes. Has anyone had any experience of this?
  • What is the best sugar to use when bottling? Priming sugar again?
Thanks for any tips or advice you can give me, I am sure there will be plenty more in the future.

Many thanks,

Brendan

Welcome.
Firstly I would say it's up to personal choice when it comes to an airlock. I never use airlocks with 3 of my FV'S but do with my glass carboy. I secure the plastic lid on 2 of my Youngs FV'S then just break the seal at a point over about 4cm diameter which is enough to allow slight pressure to build up inside but still allow CO2 out. On my Coopers FV the lid just sits on top. I've never had a bad brew these ways but to be 100% sure of nothing getting into to spoil it an airlock is the guaranteed way.
Either way, with or without an airlock the beer will taste exactly the same as long as there's no infection.
Secondly, I have a brew cupboard but a couple of coats are hung in there. When I open the cupboard while a couple of brews are on the go the smell is quite strong and it can always be smelled in the hallway but I've never noticed the smell on my jackets so in my experience the house will smell for a short while but your clothes won't. I have an ioniser in the living room which seems to do a good job eliminating all smells in there.
Good luck when you start your brew.