Extract brewing advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chunkypar

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm very new to the homebrew experience having just completed and started drinking a Coopers Canadian lager kit, which after bottle conditioning for 4 weeks is starting to taste not too bad.

However I'm looking to try an extract beer kit and want some advice on whether I'll need to buy more equipment or if what I have will be enough?

I've got a 7.5 litre pot for the initial boil and a 25 litre bucket for the fermentation. Should I be looking to get a larger pot or is it OK to boil an initial lot (or 2 of water) to get the volume needed and then boil the wort in a smaller amount of water? Do I need to account for anything else?

If this goes well for a few kits then I would consider moving into AG brewing, so is it worth buying some of the equipment needed at this stage?

So many newbie questions but hopefully nothing too ridiculous!! :roll:

Cheers!!!

hi Mate how you doing?

most extract brews for a 23-25 litre brew length are done with 2-3kg of dme,along with steeping some hops in a grain bag or muslin. a 7.5 litre stockpot is going to be a bit small to fit all that in, your better off with a 15-20L pot so you've got plenty of space to boil about 10 litres of wort and have some space above incase of a boil over, then once boiled add to the fermenter and top up with cold water to get to 17-23 degrees then add yeast.

With a 7.5L pot you will only be able to boil about 5-6L. I would say this is a little small. You can pick up 13-15L pots fairly cheap (and they make great stock pots).

Personally I would add half the DME at the start and the other half at 10 mins left in the boil. And rather than boil all your water i would just use bottle to top up in the FV, much easier :thumb: