Citra Saison - BBNo 01|01 - ideas?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mr_bridger

Reaction score
Really fancy brewing a Citra Saison like BBNo 01| 01 for the summer, but I've never done a Saison before. Any thoughts / recipe / pitfalls ? Not really sure where to start.

It says there is malted rye in it, but past that I'm heading into uncharted territory 😃 Also says 'light spicing' but I've not really been able to find anything on the web as to what they used.

Anyone done something similar?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Ah right didn't realise about the temp increase, I'll have to do some reading on that i think. ;-)

Really fancy brewing a Citra Saison like BBNo 01| 01 for the summer, but I've never done a Saison before. Any thoughts / recipe / pitfalls ? Not really sure where to start.

It says there is malted rye in it, but past that I'm heading into uncharted territory 😃 Also says 'light spicing' but I've not really been able to find anything on the web as to what they used.

Anyone done something similar?

I got a book with that very recipe in for Christmas. Thinking of doing that next as I have no (easy) way of keeping FV temps low, but can maintain in 22 - 27 range no probs. Will post the recipe up tonight.

Coriander is the spice they use, from memory.

Here you go. From the book Craft Brew by Euan Ferguson.

20.5L batch

OG 1.044 FG 1.002 ABV 5.5%

Grain Bill

1.35 kg Maris Otter (low colour) Pale Malt
1.08 kg Pilsner Malt
0.810 kg Wheat Malt
0.270 kg Flaked Wheat

Mash @ 65'c for 60 mins

Hops

Hallertau Magnum 5g @ 60 minutes
Citra 10g @ 10 mins
Citra 10g @ 5 mins
Citra 50g @ Flameout, steep for 10 mins before chilling

Yeast

Wyeast 3711 French Saison (or any Saison yeast)

Ferment 24'c hold for 48 hours, then allow to free rise if possible (I'm going to raise by 1'c per day for three days) then maintain at 27'c.