AG brews not clearing

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MagnusTS

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the AG side of things and have done 5 AG brews in the Grainfather so far. They have all been very nice, but none of them have cleared.

I'm not very patient with my brews, but these have had 2 weeks carbonation and up to about 5 weeks conditioning, and still no sign of clearing. My kit brews come out crystal clear, sometimes even before the 2 weeks carbonation is up.

The beer looks hazy rather than yeasty, and I think I read somewhere about protein haze - could this be the problem?

It's not the end of the world or anything, and the beers are all perfectly drinkable, but if anyone had any tips to getting clearer beer I'd be happy to hear them, thanks.

For info: I brew in the GF using a standard 1hr mash, 10 min mash out, 1hr boil. I add a protofloc 10 mins before end of boil. The brews have been various ingredient recipe packs from the home-brew shops.

Cheers.

Are the bottles clear or hazy at ambient temps - say 18-20°C, or just once chilled in the fridge ?

Are you using the CF chiller to pump into a FV or back into the GF when chilling? Also what temp are you mashing at and are you doing any steps with it? I don't use protofloc but any instructions I've seen seem to say that it should be added for 15 mins boiling not 10, maybe try 15mins next time and see if there is any difference.

It may just be down to small tweaks needed thru your process rather than 1 glaringly obvious mistake, hazy when chilled suggests excessive protein not being eliminated, hazy at room temp could be over carbed sediment heavy beer which when opened fires the sediment back up thru itself.