Yeast Starter for TT landlord

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

private4587

Reaction score
I have been let down on my build of a stir plate by the person supplying the magnets. I now need to build a starter using the shake method, I have written a procedure for this and was hoping someone of more brewing experience ( i am new to this ) would go over it and pass on any tips. Thanks

My 2lt Overbuild Starter using Wyeast 1469
I want to make a 2lt overbuild yeast starter, using the Homebrew Dad's Yeast Starter Calculator v1.1 the results show that I must make a twostep starter. Below is my method of carrying this out. From the table, it shows that I need 301 billion cells
1. Remove the night before the Wyeast smackpac from fridge and allow to come to room temp.
2. Locate the activator pac and break with a sharp smack.
3. Pace in brew fridge and allow to swell.
4. Next day pour 2.2lts of water into pan and bring to boil.
5. When boiling add 220g of Liquid Malt Extract (Holland & Barret) and mix well.
6. Boil mixture for 5min and then place in sink filled with iced water to cool, cover with sanitised lid.
7. When Temp is at approx. 22C remove from sink and pour into a sanitised 5lt water bottle or demijohn, and add contents of smackpac.
8. Place sanitised lid on bottle and give the bottle a vigorous shake for a few mins.
9. Allow to stand for a few mins and then place in brew fridge set at 22C.
10. Remove and shake bottle min of 4 times/day for two days, each time remembering to tighten top before shaking and loosening afterwards.
11. After two days place in cold fridge and allow the wort/yeast to separate.
12. After yeast has settled out (maybe a day) decant liquid off yeast cake leaving approx. 1cm of liquid behind, this should give me approx. 165 billion cells.
13. Next day pour 2.5lts of water into pan and bring to boil.