Coopers Australian Pale Ale

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kinleycat

Landlord.
Reaction score
Picked up a couple of these off tesco online (£9.77 each), anyone used them and are they any good?
A brief character discription would be good as i am new to pale ale, it looks somewhere between a lager and a beer - is that right?

It is pretty bland TBH but a great base for experimenting.
The IBUs are pretty low in this kit so using both cans is an option.

anthonyUK said:
It is pretty bland TBH but a great base for experimenting.
The IBUs are pretty low in this kit so using both cans is an option.

I agree , I'd also be tempted to bung the tucans in with no added sugar or beer enhancer.

I have just bottled this. In Primary for a little over a week. Bulk primed with 150g of sugar. Brewed with 1kg light spray malt and 300g brewing sugar. Ill let you know how it comes out.

I used to drink this in Australia and I like this as a nice refreshing summer drink, although it's hard to get in the UK, so I was interested to see how the kit turns out. I have brewed it to 22 litres with 1kg of light DME, as I don't want it to be too heavy. OG came out as 1.040, although there were a couple of lumps of DME which just refused do dissolve, although I don't think it's enough to raise the gravity any further.

Not sure what the ABV is supposed to be, but I reckon it should come out at about 4%, which is enough for me, for supping on a sunny evening (here's hoping, anyway!).

I'll report back in a month or so when it's ready :drink:

Did a mini mash with this last week, mashed 2.5k of marris otter and about 175g of crystal 80. Then did a little boil and added 15g of styrian goldings at 10 mins. Added the kit and topped up with cold water. Its ready to keg in the next few days but my keg fridge is full so will post back here in a few weeks when its on tap!