Slightly odd taste

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeardyBrew

Reaction score
Good day,

I'm new to the homebrewing game and like many other I started with a simple kit (cooper's lager)

I've have my brew fermenting for about two weeks. I've decided to bottle the beer and add priming sugar.

I had a little taste and it had a slight tart/sour note to it. Is this something that will mellow over time? How long shall I leave my brew bottled.

My gear and bottles had been sterilised.

Good day,

I'm new to the homebrewing game and like many other I started with a simple kit (cooper's lager)

I've have my brew fermenting for about two weeks. I've decided to bottle the beer and add priming sugar.

I had a little taste and it had a slight tart/sour note to it. Is this something that will mellow over time? How long shall I leave my brew bottled.

My gear and bottles had been sterilised.

1st of all welcome to the forum!

Beer at 2 weeks will be different from 6 week old beer. it's too early to panic yet.

As it's your 1st brew i'd strongly suggest trying a bottle each week so you can learn how it changes over time. if it improves you'll have a good idea of when to start tucking into them big-time! :grin: If it is getting worse e.g more sour - vinegary over over time then it could be an infection.

Welcome to the Forum. :thumb:

I second dad_of_jon above.

I always taste my brews before bottling on the basis that I will then know how much they have improved over the weeks.

Keep the bottles in the dark somewhere nice and warm to carbonate for a couple of weeks then move them to somewhere nice and cool for a couple more weeks and then taste one!

You will be amazed at the difference whether it be good or bad (but most probably good)! :thumb: