Can you use a sieve to strain hops?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jamie93

Reaction score
I am thinking of making my own beer from scratch for the first time, after a long stint of using kits. I've found a straightforward recipe. I'm just wondering if you can use an ordinary kitchen sieve to drain the hops?.

I am thinking of making my own beer from scratch for the first time, after a long stint of using kits. I've found a straightforward recipe. I'm just wondering if you can use an ordinary kitchen sieve to drain the hops?.

No not really but just line it with a piece of Muslin and you will be fine.:thumb:

Yes you can depending on how you do it.

If you pour the wort into teh FV just pour it through a sanitised sieve and it will catch the gunk fine.. whatever ends up in the FV do not worry about it

Thanks response. However I'm relatively new to brewing and I don't know what teh fv means?

Where can I get a large one from?

Depends on how fine you want the sieve. The salad strainers from ikea are great for resting your BIAB on and straining.
I use a paint straining bag for boiling hops in and then again to strain into fv after 24hrs in the chill cube to help get rid of trub.

I just use a biggish size one but you can get a massive one from ikea. The handle things pull out so you can use it on 50L kettles

http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/products/...-colander-stainless-steel-black-art-50103755/

idealisk-colander-stainless-steel-black__63109_pe170495_s4.jpg

loads of places wilko or buy a sheet of muslin (ebay)that you can put over the whole top of your bottling FV then tie round with string and pour you beer through, or use a muslin bag to contain your hops. Personally i throw my hops in and strain through muslin when the times up, then cold crash for a week or more and bottle. Its sometimes called butter muslin.:thumb: