Made some mead but would like to ask a question please?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aaronmarsh632

Reaction score
Hi,

I made some basic mead by adding a bottle of runny honey to 4 liters of spring water, also added half kilo of brewing sugar.

So then I tool a reading with my hydrometer and the reading read 52, I added the brewing yeast, about half tea spoon, then added some yeast nutrient according to the bottles instructions. Now is nearly 2 weeks later, so I just took another reading with the hydrometer and it reads 22.

Please can anyone tell me the alcohol content please? I don't understand the instructions and when looking online - other peoples readings are different, like 1.**, like small decimal numbers if you know what I mean. I've never used a hydrometer before :)

Thanks in advance.

Aaron

Your 52 is presumably actually 1052, which implies 560g of sugars in 4l. Given the volume the honey added, a bit more than 560 in a bit more than 4l
Your 22 is presumably 1022, giving a drop of 30, which translates to about 4%ABV
It ought to get down near 1000 eventually, for an extra 3%

Near the top of your hydrometer is a thicker band, which marks 1.000 (we often leave out the point)
Each numbered division on the scale is .0whatever
The smallest divisions are .001 or .002, depending how finely marked the scale is

Calculate ABV by taking the drop in gravity and dividing by 7.36 (exact figure open to argument, depending on exactly what's being brewed and other factors)
Also, you should do temperature correction (but it rarely moved the result more than 1/4% either way)
And you should check you get 1.000 in plain water - sometimes the paper scale slips between manufacture and reaching you (or it's just badly made)

Hi,