Absolute beginner in home brewing, wondering about temperature?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

09harsma

HSmall
Reaction score
I'm going to soon purchase a beginner kit and have the choice of bitter or lager. I like them both equally and would like to know which would be the easiest for me.

I have the option of either brewing in my garage or in my hallway, the hallway is constantly between 19 and 23 degrees C and I'm unsure of the garage temperature (it is quite old and detached so probably not much warmer than the outside temperature), could it get too cold at night?

For brewing in November would I be better off brewing in the garage or hallway and brewing bitter or lager?

Thanks.

In my opinion, because it's your first brew, I'd go for the ale simply because the yeast likes higher temperatures (ie, hallway) and are a bit more hardy

That being said, to my knowledge, a lot of the lager kits come with an ale yeast for that reason (they call these psuedo lagers)

Lets see what the others say and welcome to the forum!! :)

Callum

Thanks! :-)
Using an ale kit, would you advise to use a brewing sugar rather than normal sugar for fermenting and what should be used for bottling?

Fermentation temps are critical to brewing but just getting started focus on your process and sanitary practices. I agree with going with an ale yeast in the hallway and wrapping it in a an old blanket or towels to help maintain temp. Normal sugar is fine, I found when it comes to priming that if you need to get a beer carbonated fast brewers sugar is best but the end result is the same as table sugar.

Look forward to hearing about your successful brewday !

One last thing. Is there anything you'd advise doing differently to what is stated in an ale kits instructions for better results?