New First Time Brewer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ukblasterbrewer

Reaction score
Hi,

My wife bought me the Youngs "BrewBuddy" kit and I have just transferred the beer to a pressure barrel after 7 days in the Fermentation Vessel. ( along with around 70g of sugar heated and dissolved in a bit of water )
This is my first attempt at homebrew, so bound to be making mistakes along the way.
Beer is cloudy at moment but tastes like beer, so not all bad yet !

I am now assuming that I will need to now wait a couple of weeks.

In meantime, I bought a Youngs american IPA kit, so figured once I "learned the ropes with the Brewbuddy kit I would move onto something a bit more substantial.

Already thinking of buying boxes of bottles etc. !

Welcome aboard! A lot of folk on here (including me) go by the '2 + 2 + 2' rule. 2 weeks in fv, 2 weeks conditioning (bottles or keg, doesn't matter) at same temperature as fermentation, then 2 weeks somewhere cooler. You should end up with a nice pint if you follow this regime! How much did you end up with? The only reason I ask is that 70g of sugar could be a little on the low side, depending on how many litres went into the barrel.

Welcome aboard, first timer myself only got round to starting my first kit tonite :smile:

Welcome aboard! A lot of folk on here (including me) go by the '2 + 2 + 2' rule. 2 weeks in fv, 2 weeks conditioning (bottles or keg, doesn't matter) at same temperature as fermentation, then 2 weeks somewhere cooler. You should end up with a nice pint if you follow this regime! How much did you end up with? The only reason I ask is that 70g of sugar could be a little on the low side, depending on how many litres went into the barrel.

I would say about 18 litres in the barrel ( approx 3/4 full ).
I put 2 pints into bottles as well.