Beer fermented out

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reggie

Reaction score
Hello everyone I am new to brewing, just did my first IPA kit but have a problem.
So any advice would be helpful.

Had to go away for a few days when I got back beer looked tohave stopped checked with hydrometer had 1012 over 3 days and looks dead flat no bubbling at all.
My concern is if I bottle it with a bit of sugar for a little fermentation in the bottle will it produce any gas to give a head.

Can anyone advise it what I should do bottle as it is or anything else.

All the best.

Reggie

Hi bomburns127,

Thanks for the comment,
What I am concerned about is when I bottle with a little sugar as primer will I get a head when open the bottle. Would the yeast be spent so no secondary fermentation in the bottle.

Regards Reggie

Yes you will get a head on your beer (or should do but their are other things that can determine whether you get a head on a beeror not). The yeast will not be 'spent'. There are sugars in wort which are unfermentable to the yeast. So far they've chomped through what they are able to but the simple sugar of table sugar, which you will be using as a primer, is very fermentable so the yeast will be able to get going again chopping on that to give you a head on your beer