Big help please at wits end!!!!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

APINTA

Regular.
Reaction score
Riht I an hopin for some help here please a Few weeks I brought a Admiral reserve. I started brewing it as to ins ructions But somehow along the line it got stuck at 1020 . I came on here for some help and was told first try some heating which seemed to work and it cared on fermenting great I thought. So it fished its fermenting OK so I transferd it to a PB and put the PB on heat mat after I put the priming sugar in ( The heat mat is at 24c so I left it to go on to second fermentation for about 4 days until the beer had cleared and got a pressure reading of 6.5PSI not bad I thought. So I had a couple of pints then I noticed that the PSI had one down a bit to about 4.5 psi I tried again this morning it was at 3psi and the beer was coming out very slowly. So I thought I would run a test so put in a co2 bulb so here are the findings at 12.10 it was just under 4.5 psi that stayed the same until 3.10 when it was just 4.1 then at 5.10 it read 4.0 the latest reading @ 6.30 is still at 4.0.At this point before I made the Admiral beer kit I had sent my PB to Ballyhoo to check for leaks they had it for 4 days and it stayed the same pressure the only time it went down was the outside Temperature would slightly change So when I ot it home I checked the Pressure using my son cycle pump my PB was empty so filed with air up to 6.5 PSI and everything was fine nothing went wrong. What I can nt work out is why I am losing pressure with beer in itThe only things are as follws is when I made the beer I started it at 18 litres but changed my mind while it was fermenting ( This was after I put the heat mat on after it ot stuck at 1020 I added it up to 23 litres could that cause any problems the only other thing i can think of is putting a heater mat at 24c under the bucket