On the rocks mixed berry HEEEELLPPP!!!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Welshspud

Reaction score
Hi,

Wonder if someone can help, over some confusion with instructions.
I bought this Ritchies On the Rocks Mixed Berry Cider Kit hoping to make a start straight away, as I'm relatively new to home brewing I need some advice on the following instructions. (Please see attached photo of the can instructions.) There are no other instructions and I've searched the internet for videos or blogs, but cant find anything.

I'm Ok and understand the first 7 points of instruction for primary fermentation.
Point 8 - advises once fermentation is complete, to transfer the cider into a second bin.
My first question being, is this required to transfer into a second bin? As I don't have one?

Point 9 required to add the the apple add-back and stir well in the second fermentation bin, I'm guessing this is the cider flavouring which come separately (please see picture)
My second question, is how long does it stay in the second fermentation bucket? there is no indication of how long. just says after adding the apple add to proceed with one of the following (i.e bottling or barrelling).

Point 11 - Bottling, which is what I'm looking to do, states add 5oz of sugar and stir well to dissolve. Is this normal to do before bottling.
From other ciders I have made, I have been adding 1/2 a tea spoon of sugar to each bottle, not adding the sugar to the fermentation bucket.

Hope this makes sense, and doesn't sound too stupid. But not having much experience this seems quite unorthodox.

photo (1).jpg

image.jpg

Batch priming is much,much easier than individual bottle priming,just dump the sugar
in gently stir,if you dont tranfer to a.second barrel you risk unsettling the sediment that
has fallen to the bottom of the.fv.if i had to prime every bottle i would give up homebrewing !