Asda grape juice or cheap wine kit for dessert wine

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newbrewer2

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to brewing and have never done so before I want to make a sweet red wine a dessert wine so it doesn't have the harsh bitterness to it what's better to do so with it 100% grape juice or a cheap £20 wine kit and if juice witch one is better from asda is the asda red grape juice better or is Don Simon Spanish Red Grape Juice better they both have about 160 grams of sugar per litre and are 100% grape juice and any recipes for a nice red dessert wine would be appreciated thanks.

Hi I'm new to brewing and have never done so before I want to make a sweet red wine a dessert wine so it doesn't have the harsh bitterness to it what's better to do so with it 100% grape juice or a cheap £20 wine kit and if juice witch one is better from asda is the asda red grape juice better or is Don Simon Spanish Red Grape Juice better they both have about 160 grams of sugar per litre and are 100% grape juice and any recipes for a nice red dessert wine would be appreciated thanks.

Maybe late saturday night is a bad time to post this. But you have to attempt to narrow it down what you consider harsh bitterness. Intuitively I'd say high tannin giving dryness, but it might be high in sulphates which unbeknown to you, you're sensitive too and can taste.

For £3 asda red grape (3 ltrs)you can experiment and not be out of pocket and avoid using camdens/sulphites and extra tannin sources like tea or chestnut tannin as bought from a HBS store. With all grape wines only the tannin in the grape juice is the source. Kits use all manner of added chemicals to hit the target that red wine drinkers expect.