New brewer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gordiemac

Reaction score
Hi all I'm new to brewing and to forums first for both, with plenty of research and advice from my brew shop in Glasgow and after cleaning, sterilizing and rinsing everything tonight I have just pitched my first ever brew of Coopers Mexican Cerveza. I added this with brew enhancer 2 at 23deg C and have a O.G of 1042 I have stuck it in the garage with a 100w submersed heater set to 23 deg and checked in water first, it gets pretty chilly through the night up here. I plan to bottle and cap into cleaned sterelized and delabled Magners bottles straight from FV after 2 days of same readings. I would appreciate any advice/feedback on my first go.
Cheers!

Hi thanks for reply does that mean transfering and leaving if so how long? Or transfer then bottle straight away if this way what is the reason is it to reduce sediment?

Hi thanks for reply does that mean transfering and leaving if so how long? Or transfer then bottle straight away if this way what is the reason is it to reduce sediment?

Transfer, prime, bottle straight away. You need to prime in order to carbonate the beer. Taking the beer off the sediment first means you can stir the priming solution in.

priming and bottling...
http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter11.html
priming sugar calculator...
http://www.brewersfriend.com/beer-priming-calculator/

As its my first go im using the coopers carbonation drops was planning using 2 per magners sized bottle would you still recomend transfering? The links are great and helpful as i intend on using priming sugar once ive got a bit of confidence. Also my brew has been going for around 12hrs as yet there is no bubbles from airlock is this normal? Checked temp still at 23 deg C (patience is not my strongest point!)