Hops advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ajt24

Reaction score
Hi im a novice just done a wilko pilsner, but im thinking about maybe trying doing a kit with hops, i only really like lager, and wanted to know where to start, what would be the best method for a novice do i boil water and hops then pour it through a sive to the fermenting bucket with the malt extract fronm the tin. Or do i just pop some hops in the fementing bucket,
or do i just stick to the kits :D
many thanks

Just putting the hops in is called dry hopping.

Boiling the hops will add more bitterness. You can just add them to hot water, and allow them to cool before adding to the FV. This is called hop tea.

Both are good. Do a bit of research and give it a go.
I tend to hop tea as it seems to cause less mess.... discuss....

Depends what you want, more bitterness or more flavour or more aroma. Boiling provides bitterness, steeping in hot/warm water will give you flavour and aroma, dry hopping gives aroma. And aroma can have a big effect.

If you only drink lager, do you actually want to increase any of those things? I would def recommend you try, because you will probably expand your tastes and realise there are things you like. Cascades are popular and work well in pale beers. Steep or dry hop, don't start tampering with bitterness at this stage, just add some fresh flavour/aroma. It improves a kit a lot, if you use hops you like.

For lager type kits stick with "noble" hops (Hallertau, Tettnanger, Spalt, and Saaz) as those are the traditional lager hops.

Be careful with the terms used in hopping as they might not quite be what you think they are...