Hop-rodding!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WWC

Reaction score
Hello everybody

Firstly, just to say, I’m very new to the world of homebrew (half a brew and one demijohn of apple wine in!) so any feedback welcome!

To cut to the chase I want to create a strong (6.5%ish) intense (grapefruit, passion fruit, tropical etc flavours) ‘craft IPA’ style brew from a kit.

Ok so this is probably a long shot but as the beers I like are at least £2 a throw if I can pull something drinkable off that’s in the broad area I’ll be chuffed.

My simplistic and naïve brain says start with a kit like Razorback IPA or Evil Dog Double IPA, add some extra brewing sugar to the malt to beef up the alcohol then dry hop with a combination of:

Centennial
Saphir
Amarillo
Simcoe
Cascade

Gut feeling is the standard kits err on the side of caution so extra hops will help with the flavour?

How stupid is this as a plan and how can I tweak it?

Cheers

Will

Hello everybody

Firstly, just to say, I’m very new to the world of homebrew (half a brew and one demijohn of apple wine in!) so any feedback welcome!

To cut to the chase I want to create a strong (6.5%ish) intense (grapefruit, passion fruit, tropical etc flavours) ‘craft IPA’ style brew from a kit.

Ok so this is probably a long shot but as the beers I like are at least ��£2 a throw if I can pull something drinkable off that’s in the broad area I’ll be chuffed.

My simplistic and naïve brain says start with a kit like Razorback IPA or Evil Dog Double IPA, add some extra brewing sugar to the malt to beef up the alcohol then dry hop with a combination of:

Centennial
Saphir
Amarillo
Simcoe
Cascade

Gut feeling is the standard kits err on the side of caution so extra hops will help with the flavour?

Cheers

Will

Will,