Register Now!
The HomeBrew Forum > Wine, Cider & Other Home Brewing Talk > Wine & Cider Kit Reviews > Beaverdale Pinot Grigio

Help Support The Homebrew Forum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.

Old 25-05-2013, 08:37 PM   #1
bobsbeer

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Beaverdale Pinot Grigio

Old 31-05-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
darrellm

Liked 475 Times on 376 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default Re: Beaverdale Pinot Grigio

This was a real surprise - in a good way.

I've been home brewing beer for several years but was not convinced you could make a good home-made wine, despite the lady in the LHBS telling me otherwise. I was wrong. Made up this 6 bottle kit in a demijohn I had lying around, followed the instructions - it looked a bit like milk to start with but suddenly started clearing at the end of the fermentation. I've drank 2 of the 6 bottles so far and it's as it says on the tin, a Pinot Grigiot - I'm no wine expert but it's very palatable and tastes good according to a few who've tried it. And for around £2 a bottle.

Definately recommended, I shall be doing more of these, and the 6 bottle version works for me because it takes up less space, and we're not massive wine drinkers anyway.

Just done one of their reds too (Barolo) which is equally as nice, but maybe still a bit "young" (very fruity) - but not bad by any means. Plan to leave a few bottles of each to age a good few months.
shedbrewer Likes This 
Old 31-05-2013, 08:25 PM   #3
wardy86

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I am also making my first wine kits and opted for the Beaverdale Pinot Grigio and Beaverdale Merlot 6 bottle. The Pinot should be ready for bottling Sunday and will probably drink a bottle straight away as the sample I tasted during racking was very promising. If these are going to be as good as I think they are I will have to have a go at the 30 bottle kits.
DJ1: Empty
DJ2: Empty
DJ3: Empty

Conditioning:

Drinking: