Prestige white wine kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HarrowBrew

Reaction score
Prestige white wine kit (as far as I can see only sold on Amazon). I started this kit yesterday and will provide an update and personal taste impression once I have bottled it. Disclaimer: This is my first attempt at homebrewing so I can't compare it to any other kits. Also, I am more of a red wine drinker (the kit was a gift).

This is being sold as a 14 day fermentation kit, making up 30x750ml of wine.

The kit includes:
Grape concentrate for white wine
General Purpose Bayanus Wine Yeast
Wine Nutrients
Wine Stabiliser
Finings A (Kieselsol)
Finings B (Chitosan)

It requires 4kg of sugar to be added at the start and 150g of sugar once stabiliser is added.

The instructions go straight from FV to bottling: there is no step for any racking.

I am using a basic Wilko fermenting bucket (I poked a hole in the lid myself and fitted a grommet). I don't have a heating pad so there may be a temperature drop at night. When I got ready for bed I moved it into an airing cupboard where the temperature is warmer. I checked at 4am and 6am (insomnia!) and saw the temperature had remained constant. I don't have an LCD temperature strip but instead left my Wilko thermometer on the lid which seems to do the job.

Day 1: The temperature at which I picthed the yeast and nutrients was 26 degrees celcius. The SG was 1080. For the first couple of hours the FV was stored in a 3ftx3ft airing cupboard where the heating pipes and heating pump are, but it turns out this was too warm and the lid of the bucket ended up measuring 29 degrees. I moved it out into the hallway where there is a regular room temperature (20 degrees).