English IPA recipe tweaks, OK?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hop-Sniffer

Reaction score
Hi chaps I'd appreciate your views on this. I'm a novice AG brewer, I've just done my third AG brew, the chiller is running at the moment and it will be in the FV within the next half hour hopefully.

Because I was trying to use up some hops from the previous brews, I tweaked the recipe I was using. I winged this without the benefit of a recipe program or any knowledge whatsoever :oops: Because I'm still new to this, I haven't quite got my head around IBUs, AAs etc! :confused: I hope I haven't wasted a brew? The recipe is from Greg Hughes "Home Brew Beer" (page 131) and is for an English IPA. I'll list the recipe as printed, then list the hop changes I made.

Brew length 23L, mash liquor 14L, mash time 1 hour, boil time 70 minutes

Grain bill, 5.8kg Pale malt, 145g Crystal malt.

Challenger 70g at boil start
Goldings 35g for last 15 minutes
Goldings 35g at switch off

I substituted Progress for Challenger, and East Kent Goldings (mostly) for Goldings. Actually, I was about 20g short of EKG so made the 15 min addition up as follows: EKG 15g; Progress 10g; Citra 10g. The switch-off addition was all EKG.

Will these hop amendments be OK?

Also, I have some Simcoe hops left from an American IPA I did (same book, turned out ace :thumb:). Could I dry hop with these? I do like very hoppy beers. If so, how much, at what point and for how long?

Thanks for your patience with my muppet questions.

Your beer sounds ace mate and I have the same book as you and it gets good reviews.
I am unqualified to help you sorry :hmm: but if you like hops then I can't see you going wrong, I don't think you will end up with a Sierra Nevada Torpedo !
Good luck and pm me if you need a chief taster :wink::wink: