Homebrewer Newbie. Advice please

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patvegas1

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm a newbie to homebrewing and have just done my first batch of Nut Brown Ale (ABV 4.1). At the moment it has been bottle conditioning for about 3 days after 10 days primary fermentation. Being new to it, I want to make sure I've done everything as I should have done. I paid attention to the labels and guides on the equipment I bought but wanted some opinions from seasoned pro's :roll:.

After the initial sterilisation, water boiling and adding the malt, the guide I was using said to add the yeast at under 26 degrees C. It was around 26 when I added it. I left this in my kitchen which fluctuated between roughly 22-26 degrees C for about 10 days. The guide said between 20-25 degrees and taste it after 10 days and if it wasn't' overly sweet then to bottle it up. When I tasted it, it wasn't sweet but tasted very alcoholic. I have read this can be because of the initial brewing stage was too high a temperature. I have bottled it anyway and it said to put it in a place between 25-30 degrees for about a week then in a cool dark place until clarified. At the moment its in my front room under the dining table in boxes so not in sunlight. The temp fluctuates from about 25-30 degrees. I was then going to move it to somewhere a little less warm for a week or two and test if for carbonation, flavour and clarity.

The main reason for my post is I was worried at the temperature and the initial tasting stage. I have read quite a few articles and the majority of people say throwing it away is a last resort and to try it at various stages after the bottle conditioning. I just wanted to get some answers specific to my exact circumstances.

Any pointers or advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Patrick