Almost Phenolic Harsh Astringent Taste

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

markmark

Regular.
Reaction score
I apologise in advance as this will be a fairly lengthy post. I hope someone can give me some pointers as I'm tearing my hair out here and in truth I am on the verge of giving up.......anyone want to buy some shiny shiny?? :lol:

I started brewing AG around 5 years ago in second hand plastic kit. I made great beer.....I brew pales and bitters.
My water is quite high in alkalinity and I used to use a Salifert test kit with an appropriate amount of CRS to get this below 25ppm. I also added 1tsp of gypsum to both the mash and boil per 20 litres of beer brewed.

I upgraded my set up to stainless and my first brews went well, but then I've developed a problem that I just can't fathom.
The beers that I was making started coming out with a very harsh twang to them.....almost phenolic, not quite astringent, verging on metallic :(
I must have dumped 3 or 4 batches, which is never very good for the soul......I then had a bit of break following the birth of my son.

First batch ended up being dumped again due to the reasons above.
I sent a water sample to Murphys for them to analyse, which they duly did and they sent me some recommendations depending on the beer style that I wanted to brew.
The CRS addition they quote for pales and bitters is very close to what I used to calculate out from the Salifert tests. They also give me an addition of DWB of 23g for 40 litre brew length.

Since I got the water test from Murphys I have made three batches.
The first two were great and I thought, at last I had cracked it and had something that would work consistently well for me.
The two batches were pale ales; 5.2% and 5.6% ABV with a grain bill of mainly pale malt, munich malt and a little bit of caragold in the lower gravity beer.