Bohemian Blonde Pils Fermentation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 41004

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing and am currently doing the Beerworks Bohemian Blonde Pils, it's on day 4 of primary fermentation.
I followed the instructions to the letter, the start hydrometer reading was 1050 (took several readings to be sure), and the temp was about 24deg. I have an immersion heater in the FV to help regulate the temp as the house is always kept cool as the missus is always roasting and can't cope with the heating on any more than lukewarm. The heater comes preset to 24deg, but I adjusted it down so it would run about 20degs.
The first two days it bubbled away like mad, the airlock burbling about every 8-10secs, however is has slowed quite a lot over days 3 and 4. When I got home today (5pm) it was only bubbling about every minute and a half (90secs) and by 7pm it's slowed to about every minute and 50secs. I've checked the thermometer stuck on the FV and it reads 19degs.

Is it better to leave it to continue fermenting as it is, bearing in mind it has another six days to go before the hops go in, or should I take the heater out and turn it up a little? The instructions say it is best between 20 and 24degs.

Any advice?

yup. leave it. a lack of bubbling doesn't mean it has stopped. won't do it any harm at all letting it sit until you chuck the hops in.

24 degrees for a Pilsner what yeast are you using? air bubble activity will naturally slow as the fermentation gets closer to the end. I think though that your temp is way too high if its a lager yeast and so the clean profile you would get at lower temp wont be how your beer will end up.