hi from the states...throwing together a pilsner tomorrow

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fluketamer

Reaction score
hi everyone from across the pond or is that a stupid thing that only us americans think you say.
anyway i have joined this forum due to the acceptance of can kit brewers over here.. in the US on the sister site they dont use can kits. they shun can kit brewers and make it hard for us to have a discussion without some wise ass saying can kits suck and i brew better beer with my spike conical grainfather thingamajiggy etc.

i have been brewing coopers and muntons for 30 years. although in the US they would say im not really brewing. i recently got a hold of these cool pouch kits that include dry hops and am excited to start one.

tomorrow i am putting this together

1 pouch of hopped LME pilsner (1.8kg)
12 ounces of dextrose
6 ounces of golden light dme

topped up to 4.5 gallons
this gives me less than 20 percent corn in the grist so hopefully it wont make the beer too thin/cidery/corny/etc .
hoping for a og of 1042 and hoping i can get this down to 1008 for an abv of 4.5 percent

i will split this into two fermenters.

1 will get diamond lager yeast slurry from my previous lager batch and fermented at 56 degrees for 2 weeks possibly 3 weeks.

the other will get the yeast that came with the kit and i will ferment at 69 degrees for 2 to 3 weeks

i plan on splitting up the dry hops between the two. even though its just 14 grams of hops

does this sound like a reasonable plan what do you guys think of the fermentable additions?
the kit obviously just calls for the old kilo of dextrose.

thanks in advance hope you brits are more forgiving than us 'muricans'.

Nothing wrong with kits, made many a good beer using Cooper's kits before changing to (not progressing wink... ) all grain. Never did more than adding some DME or tin of treacle.