is my homebrew ok????

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bengee

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to homebrewing. With my first brew I chose to make American Style IPA. I followed the directions on the Young's homebrew pack.

My first issue began with the airlock - I wasn't getting any bubbles. After a week or so I had to open the fermenter to see if there was any activity, and I was pleased as the yeast was doing its job. So I'm guessing that this may be an issue with the airlock.....i don't know.

The instructions said to wait till the specific gravity dropped, and stabilised at 1.09. After 2 weeks, I was getting a reading of 1.12 and a few days later it was the same reading. I thought it had stabilised so I transferred to the air-tight barrel and added the priming sugar.

2 weeks later and I couldn't resist it any longer - I had a small sample. It was still very cloudy and the taste was a long way off.

It has now been almost 3 weeks and the beer has cleared a little, the taste is a little better (I think), but it still doesn't taste right - the taste is slightly acidic (I'm sure there's a proper term for it!)

Will the taste improve further, do you think? The guidelines say that the homebrew will be drinkable after 2 weeks, but for optimum taste, wait 4 weeks.

Could this be down to an error in my brewing technique?

Hi, from experience, I used to find that beer made from kits always took 4-6 weeks after bottling to get to a good point. Timings on their instructions can sometimes be a bit optimistic! Sounds like you had reached FG so time will be your friend. If you have a barrel with the tap towards the bottom there is always the chance that some of the cloudiness could be from stuff settling and then getting pulled through with the beer. That will pass after a pint or two.