Total noob with a ton of questions lol!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Artemisia

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I started my first brew last Sat night (14th Oct) using bits & pieces I picked up at Wilkinsons.
I wasn't brave/stupid enough to jump straight into bona fide beer or wine, since I thought it was smarter to start slowly & get the hang of things first - not to mention the cost of a kit & the likelihood of ruining it on a first attempt.
So... I cooked up my own alcoholic ginger beer recipe from scratch, very roughly following a recipe I saw a guy on YouTube make.

Recipe:
4.5l carboy
1 large ginger root, blended to pulp
1/2 medium orange, chopped & skin left on
1 teaspoon coriander seeds
1/2 bag (500g) Wilkinson beer additive (50:50 mixed pale malt: dextrose)
300g white sugar
1 teaspoon yeast nutrient
1 Wilkinson wine yeast sachet (oops! Maybe that was a bad idea?!)
(orange & coriander were my idea, having read about Belgian Wit Beer - my fav)

The fermentation started up in earnest about 3 hours after I pitched the yeast & quickly turned into Mount Vesuvius, fizzing so violently it was almost at a rolling boil! :lol: You can probably guess what happened next - yup, it was trying to climb out through the trap & I had to carefully swap traps several times, cleaning & sanitizing as I went. Luckily, the pack I bought was a double. It was late by this point & I had to abandon it with the cap of the trap jumping up & down & ended up leaving it in my bath overnight in case anything more drastic happened - like a total blockage of the carboy neck!