7% to 8% beer ?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mattyde05

Reaction score
Hi guys

so I’ve got a grainfather and I think without looking I can use 9kg of grain for a single brew . My question is would I need to use two packets of yeast ? Us 05 to be exact . Wanting to get a higher abv as I enjoy a strong beer 🍺. Just a smash recipe.
Any info would be much appreciated.
p.s maris otter and citra

Not an expert here but seeing as the first thing the yeast does is reproduce itself until it uses up all the oxygen and then starts to ferment, the amount of yeast to start with is a bit academic

The key surely is the amount of sugar at the beginning of the fermentation, basically more sugar = more alcohol

Once the beer becomes too alcoholic this can slow down the action of the yeast - so may be think of yeast supplements

As I say I am not an expert and would be interested in other thoughts

Hi guys

so I’ve got a grainfather and I think without looking I can use 9kg of grain for a single brew . My question is would I need to use two packets of yeast ? Us 05 to be exact . Wanting to get a higher abv as I enjoy a strong beer 🍺. Just a smash recipe.
Any info would be much appreciated.
p.s maris otter and citra
I don’t think you can get 9KG into a grainfather, 8KG at a push and you’ll still find your wort flows through the handle holes. For a really big beer try reiterated mashing if you can be arsed. I have a grainfather and with 7.5KG of grain and maybe a few 100g of dextrose you can reach 1.075 easily which will be 8%+ using US05. Rule of thumb is two packs for 23 litres over 1.060 so I certainly advise two packs, that what I do

so I’ve got a grainfather and I think without looking I can use 9kg of grain for a single brew