A Bavarian in southern England

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wonderwoman

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi there!

I just wanted to quickly introduce myself. As you have read, I'm originally from Bavaria and am living in England now. With the prices of German wheat beer being so expensive here in England, I am toying with the idea of trying my luck with a little bit of home brewing. Also I like the idea of a "clean" beer and so many of the commercial products even taste chemical or just to clean, tinny and boring.

However, I have no idea, how "successful" and drinkable a home brew is, so I am unsure how much to invest in a first setup and want to keep it as cheap as possible. I am not really into buying those kits you just add water too, I want to make my "own" brew, but am aware that as a total novice, the field of brewing can be a little complex...

I am open to any tips and tricks and guides. Has anyone been successful at brewing wheat beer?

Hi, Welcome to the forum. What kind of quantity are you looking to brew?? ;-)

Thanks guys! I will have a read on my lunch break :D

Well, the quantity question is a good one... I am a little torn. I kind of want to do about 20l to start with. I mean, the thing is, you can't just boil it up, wait for it to cool and drink it. So I'm thinking, since it takes at least 4 weeks to actually become beer, I don't just want to do 5l. However, I haven't got a pot big enough, so was looking into different options. There are some budget boilers out there that may or may not be an option.

If the brew I make turns out to be drinkable, or even better enjoyable, I'd be happy to invest a little more, but at this stage I don't want to spend too much and then it turns out it's not something that works for me.

What would you suggest?