A Load of Ingredients but What to Brew?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Petrolhead

Regular.
Reaction score
I have been brewing AG for a good while now but mostly used kit packs from the usual suspects and more recently been ordering the ingredients for recipes found on this forum and the interwebby. This means that I have no experience of 'designing' my own brews, however, I have been given a fair few ingredients from a brewer who is hanging up his kettle for a few years.

Can anyone suggest a way forward? Either some recipes which can be brewed from these ingredients or how I should tackle my first effort at making up a recipe?

I have put my stock list below and thank you guy's in advance for any advice given.

MALTS
Chateau Biscuit Malt 1 kg
Melanoidin Malt 500g
Cara Munich Malt Type 1 1 kg
Black Malt 1 kg
BestMaltz Pilsner 3 kgs
Pale Crystal 1 kg
Caraamber 1 kg
Brown Malt 3 kgs
Mild Ale Malt 1 kg
Crystal Malt 500 g
Pale Crystal 3 kgs
Carapils 500 g
Carafa Special Type 3 500 g
Chocolate Whole Malt 250 g

GRAINS
Roasted Barley 1 kg
Torrified Wheat 2 kgs
Flaked Wheat 1 kg
Maris Otter 500 g
Pale Wheat 500 g
Oat Husks 500 g
Roasted Wheat 1 kg

HOPS
Motucha Whole Hops 100 g
Columbia 100 g
East Kent Goldings 100 g
Target 100 g
Pekko 100 g

ADDITIONS
Liquorice Root 50 g
Cocoa Nibs 200 g

You've got lots of bits and pieces there, but not much base malt. If I were you, I'd buy a sack or 10kg of crushed pale malt and start looking through some recipes. Greg Hughes would be a great place to start. While you're waiting for your malt to come you could make two brews, a light and a dark. Bear in mind that as a rough rule of thumb, you need 4Kg base malt to make a 20 litres batch with OG 1050.