Advice for recipes from 'Brew Your Own British Real Ale'

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NigelB

Reaction score
Hi
I'm new to home brewing having only done 3 brews so far. The first was a Muntons kit, and was a disaster...95% of it got chucked down the drain!
The following 2 were more successful...in as much as they were drinkable! Both of these recipes were from the Graham Wheeler book 'Brew your own British real ale'. One recipe was for an 'Old Speckled Hen' type beer, and the other was for a 'Timothy Taylor Landlord' type beer. (See recipes below).
In both instances I used the liquid malt extract method (using Neale's Premium Grade LME light) and both used Safale s-04 yeast. Water used was just tap water.
I'd like to improve on them, especially the Timothy Taylor...it needs more hop flavour and smell. Should I be adding some more hops in later during fermentation (dry hopping), or would I get better results using a different yeast...or even using bottled water. I'd like to stick with malt extract brewing for now, but I'm confused as to what to do to change the taste/aroma. I was wondering if anybody else has tried these 2 recipes using malt extract brewing and if they were more successful? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    47.4 KB · Views: 271
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    50 KB · Views: 288
The TT Landlord recipe has 50g bittering hops and 16g flavouring hops.
From my experience I use less of the former and more of the latter.
Typically for a 10L extract brew I use 10g medium AA (e.g. Target) for 60 minutes and 10g of say, Fuggles for 10 minutes.
I also boil my steeping liqor only, not my extract, which gives a higher extraction rate.
Try putting another 10g hops for 10 minutes next time and see what happens.