Advice on Session IPA recipe

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Splodges

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm doing a new brew next week, I'd just like some advice/critique on a recipe idea I've done. I'm pretty new to this so sorry if I've missed anything important out. My first brew I wasn't very impressed with, we toned down the amount of hops from a recipe and didn't add enough brewing sugar and it was a Citra SMaSH, so it came out a bit thin and flat and similar to beer flavoured dish water (in my opinion). I've since done a German wheat beer that turned out quite well albeit a little tangy but I'd like to get my session IPA right before moving on.

Here's the recipe idea so far:

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/643185/alibi-2-0

Here are my queries so far but any odd input would be greatly appreciated:

Using 5% wheat for body and head retention. Good idea or not?
Will the % of Crystal malt make this beer too malty/sweet for a session IPA?
Hop combination. Is Citra and Mosaic good together?
Hop timings, how would this effect the beer. Would you do anything differently?
IBU too high in relation to ABV and SRM?
Would a Profloc tablet help clarity better that just Irish moss?
Fermented for 7 days last time, does changing this time affect anything? Would dry hopping at day 4 with 3 days to go be recommended?

And here are a list of things I'm not certain of how to answer on the recipe calculator but could find out:

Water chemistry
The exact type of fermentables (L on crystal malt, which exact barley or wheat)
Fermentation temp
Yeast pitch rate
Mash guidelines (Starting mash thickness/Temp/Amount/Type)

I realise this sounds unusual not knowing all this ^ but I've brewed just twice with a small independent home brew company that guided me through my first 2 brews. I could probably find out most of the info fairly quickly.

Splodges :hat: