advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbo1982

Reaction score
I am looking to get my second brew on the go tomorrow. I have a wilko hoppy copper bitter kit and I want to add 1kg young's brew enhancer and 500gr medium dry malt extract. Will this be ok? I'm New to this and want to have a bit of a tinker with this bitter.

Can't see why not.

I vary my brews,

Brewing sugar
Granulated sugar
Honey
Apple juice
Brew enhancer 1 or 2
Glucose

Scaff

Can't see why it wouldn't work, the enhancer is half sme, adding the extra will just give you more strength and body, it sounds to me like you'll have improved it.

Not sure if I have a problem. Noticed the airlock level has gone back to the same on both sides. I know I have a good seal as it bubbles when I press down on the fv lid. The level was higher on one side yesterday and there is a ring of scum around the inside so I know something has/is going on. Should I be worried? I know it's only been on a few days but thought I should ask.

Not sure if I have a problem. Noticed the airlock level has gone back to the same on both sides. I know I have a good seal as it bubbles when I press down on the fv lid. The level was higher on one side yesterday and there is a ring of scum around the inside so I know something has/is going on. Should I be worried? I know it's only been on a few days but thought I should ask.

Well like you say sounds like something has gone on so initially there is no reason to worry..

It has only been a few days and the first few days are when the fermenting is much more vigorous.

Personally I would say relax, wait a few days and take a hydrometer test.. Is there still a foamy patchy head on it?

Well like you say sounds like something has gone on so initially there is no reason to worry..