Another ruined batch !!?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kamikazio

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am very new to home brewing, I’ve just thrown in my dry hops to my latest Batch and what I saw in the fermenter hasn’t filled me with much confidence about the condition of my brew!! 😢 I’m hoping somebody could look at the photographs and advise their opinion on wether or not my brew looks infected. 😔

This is my fourth brew. Brew #1 turned out great, brew #2 tasted chemically, brew #3 fermentation stalled and on this, my 4th brew, my final gravity only reached 1022 when the recipe suggests it should be 1009 (original 1043). I’m starting to loose hope with hope my hone brewing skills 😢😢😢😢

Would an infected beer cause the fermentation process to stall ?

Attachments

• 46965F4B-17C5-4E5C-A96C-DEAE56E6B8F9.jpeg
    46965F4B-17C5-4E5C-A96C-DEAE56E6B8F9.jpeg
    95.2 KB · Views: 176
  • 1CDDA983-DA1B-4BF1-8095-B483BF3648E8.jpeg
    1CDDA983-DA1B-4BF1-8095-B483BF3648E8.jpeg
    154.6 KB · Views: 175
  • 8E175FF8-F085-4BA8-A19E-0137966B3D45.jpeg
    8E175FF8-F085-4BA8-A19E-0137966B3D45.jpeg
    197.2 KB · Views: 159
It doesn't look great. But then fermented beer can look all sorts of hideousness. Are you fermenting in an airtight vessel? As for the gravity, refractometers only work before fermentation has started. You need a hydrometer.

Hi Phildo, yes I’m using a Brew Monk conical fermenter.
I didn't realise the refractometer can’t be used after fermentation, lesson learned!

as for how the beer looks, it’s a session IPA I’m making, using Safeale US-05

Hi Guys,