Anyone know anything about fridges?

Discussion in 'The Snug' started by jjsh, Jan 14, 2020 at 6:15 PM.

Help Support The Homebrew Forum UK by donating:

  1. Jan 14, 2020 at 6:15 PM #1

    jjsh

    jjsh

    jjsh

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    778
    Location:
    East Lindsey, Lincolnshire
    I brought a fridge from Facebook, which now I've got it home, has stopped working. As soon as you plug it in, it trips the RCD. My other fridge works fine from the same socket, so it's deffo the fridge.

    Are there any obvious things to check before I take it for a trip to visit Mr Tip? I've already replaced the fuse.
     
  2. Jan 14, 2020 at 6:34 PM #2

    Rodcx500z

    Rodcx500z

    Rodcx500z

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    on the island
    A good check of the wiring for loose or chafed wires, I am no sparky but worth a go, hope you get it fixed athumb..
     
  3. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:18 PM #3

    Leon103

    Leon103

    Leon103

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    1,653
    Take it back to seller
     
  4. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:33 PM #4

    Petrolhead

    Petrolhead

    Petrolhead

    Regular.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    My Shed
  5. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:37 PM #5

    jjsh

    jjsh

    jjsh

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    778
    Location:
    East Lindsey, Lincolnshire
    Can't be returned, unfortunately as it was working in their house, and indeed when plugged it in after leaving it to rest for 24 hours. It's just fine wrong since. That's the risk with 2nd hand stuff.
     
  6. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:58 PM #6

    foxy

    foxy

    foxy

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    430
    Check the wiring, where the power goes in could be a wire has come loose, it shouldn't be much more than that. I had to replace the fuse in a kegerator last week where a cockroach had fried itself under the circuit board.
     
    fury_tea and pms67 like this.
  7. Jan 14, 2020 at 11:27 PM #7

    johncrobinson

    johncrobinson

    johncrobinson

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    126
    Might have got a bit damp.
    I had same problem with a microwave that i stored in a garage for a few days whilst moving house
    after a while in my warm kitchen it was fine.
    RCDs are very very sensitive.

    Other than that you will need a sparky to give it the once over.
     
  8. Jan 14, 2020 at 11:47 PM #8

    dwhite60

    dwhite60

    dwhite60

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Garner, NC, USA
    What's the power consumption? It's on a tag somewhere in either amps or watts. You may not have enough amps available on your circuit to get it started. When it starts it pulls four to eight times the running amps for a fraction of a second to get the compressor started.

    All the Best,
    D. White
     
    GerritT likes this.
  9. Jan 15, 2020 at 7:22 AM #9

    johncrobinson

    johncrobinson

    johncrobinson

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    126
    Re dwhite60.>. Thats a good point What is actually tripping ???
    Is it the overload MCB ????
    Or is it the Earth leakage breaker.?????
     
  10. Jan 15, 2020 at 9:03 AM #10

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    MmmBeer

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    I had a problem with my brew fridge last summer, I found a thread on here started by Richie_asg1, with his help I managed identify the offending components. With a bit of scouring the net, I bought a PTC relay and overload protector for just over a tenner and it was easily fixed and still happily running.

    https://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/threads/fermentation-fridge-build.81974/
     
  11. Jan 15, 2020 at 9:48 AM #11

    Richie_asg1

    Richie_asg1

    Richie_asg1

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Is it tripping the breaker for that one supply or the main house RCD?.
    If it is tripping the main RCD then you have a fault to earth (which would be dangerous), but if it is a rated circuit breaker then it may be repairable.
    If you suspect an earth fault, then you need a multimeter to trace out where the fault is, and if it is the compressor itself then it's game over unless you like welding. (Unplug it before you test anything)
    You should be able to get to the connections under a cover and check each of the 3 pins to earth. If any of those 3 motor winding pins show a fault to earth then it's dead. Just watch out for the start capacitor as it can hold charge for days, and can give you a shock.

    Fridges don't like travel - especially on their sides.
     
    terrym likes this.
  12. Jan 15, 2020 at 10:48 AM #12

    the_quick

    the_quick

    the_quick

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Polegate, East Sussex
    Might be a silly idea, but that how my fridge was tripping, a dodgy light bulb in the fridge. Might be that. Easy to check.
     
  13. Jan 15, 2020 at 11:35 AM #13

    kelper

    kelper

    kelper

    Landlord. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    Highlands
    But would only trip the breaker when you opened the door................
     
  14. Jan 15, 2020 at 11:37 AM #14

    the_quick

    the_quick

    the_quick

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Polegate, East Sussex
  15. Jan 16, 2020 at 12:56 PM #15

    jjsh

    jjsh

    jjsh

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    778
    Location:
    East Lindsey, Lincolnshire
    It's just the breaker in the main consumer unit that feeds the garage that blows, and the individual breaker for the ring main in the mini consumer unit in the garage itself is both trip at the same time. Today is the first chance I've had to examine things and it looks like it could be a quick win;

     
    GerritT likes this.
  16. Jan 16, 2020 at 1:25 PM #16

    Rodcx500z

    Rodcx500z

    Rodcx500z

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    on the island
    Looks like you found the problem athumb..
     
  17. Jan 16, 2020 at 2:13 PM #17

    Richie_asg1

    Richie_asg1

    Richie_asg1

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Yep that would do it. At least it didn't kill you.
    If you still have enough length of cable you could cut it at the damage and rewire it to the compressor connection box, or buy a short extension lead and cut the sockets off. Often cheaper to use those than buy the cable and a plug.
     
  18. Jan 16, 2020 at 2:15 PM #18

    jjsh

    jjsh

    jjsh

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    778
    Location:
    East Lindsey, Lincolnshire
    Right, the lead is fixed, but it still tripped the RCD so I took the cover off the tx1c5 monoblock. As you can see, the live and neutral connectors from the mains lead have come loose and are touching. Looks like another simple fix if I can work out where they connect on the monoblock. Which I can't! Do they go on the same row as the blue and brown wires that go into the fridge?

     
  19. Jan 16, 2020 at 2:32 PM #19

    Richie_asg1

    Richie_asg1

    Richie_asg1

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    I'm pretty sure blue neutral is common on all connectors. Live in should go to the thermostat control first, (and light if it's 240v) and when that switches on the feed to the compressor is live.
    Sometimes they use standard 3 core into the thermostat which confuses things. Just identify the wires that disappear into the insulated body of the fridge as that will be the thermostat. The start and run/overload switching should be all one block so you can ignore that for now.

    If you have a meter just identify the thermostat wiring and wire it as a switch to the compressor live.
    I think I can see it as a cable which has Brown Black & Blue wires. In that case compressor brown live goes to a black wire which should logically be switched live.
     
  20. Jan 16, 2020 at 2:53 PM #20

    Rodcx500z

    Rodcx500z

    Rodcx500z

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    on the island
    Looking like you will have a fully working fridge soon athumb..
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page