Beer kit recommendations

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flan

Reaction score
Im 2 weeks into my first ever venture into home brew, a youngs American IPA, I think it’s going well but as I’m new to it all i cant tell yet. I’m not ready to start brewing with recipes or mashing yet so I’m using kits for my first few until i get used to the process, i prefer IPA and lagers, i do like a German lager. I’m thinking of trying a Mangrove Jacks Helles for my next brew and was wondering has anyone tried this or has any other recommendations to try.

Did the MJ Helles last year but wasn't that impressed. I've never found a kit that actually tastes like lager.....
I can highly recommend the MJ Grapefruit IPA though. Top beer. Festival's Razorback IPA is another cracker along with Love Brewing's President's Sierra IPA

Cheers. Tom

Did the MJ Helles last year but wasn't that impressed. I've never found a kit that actually tastes like lager.....
I can highly recommend the MJ Grapefruit IPA though. Top beer. Festival's Razorback IPA is another cracker along with Love Brewing's President's Sierra IPA

Cheers. Tom
Thanks Tom

Well for a first brew you have set the bar very high. Based upon the reviews here and a little pre-bottling sample I tasted today, the Youngs American IPA is an exceptional brew. You will need to do your homework in order to maintain the same levels of satisfaction.

I can recommend the MJ Pink grapefruit IPA, and based upon reviews here the MJ Juicy sessions IPA and Tiny Rebel Cwtch are highly regarded. Unfortunately, in the current covid environment, the best kits are often the ones that are out of stock.

Just avoid the 1 can 40 pint kits because they wont come close unless you pimp them up with a Kg of extra fermentables and hops.